Back to News

Service-Learning Fellows will Lead Outreach

The Division of Community Engagement is pleased to announce the 2019-2020 Service-Learning Faculty Fellows. The fellowship program enrolls faculty members who have experience in teaching service-learning classes to serve as campus leaders in teaching excellence. Fellows collaborate with the VCU Service-Learning Office staff to deepen awareness and knowledge of service-learning pedagogy across VCU’s academic departments.

2019-2020 Fellows:
Geraldine Lotze, teaching associate professor, Psychology
Thea Pepperl, assistant professor, Biomedical Engineering
Alexandra Reckendorf, assistant professor and associate chair, Political Science
Matthew Vechinski, assistant professor, Focused Inquiry
Jonathan Waybright, term instructor of Religious Studies and internship coordinator
“This year's fellows group will be reaching out to faculty members who currently teach service-learning classes across a wide range of academic departments to offer consultation and professional development,” said Lynn Pelco, Ph.D., associate vice provost for Community Engagement and director, Service-Learning Office. “By sharing their experiences and expertise, fellows are able to help the DCE co-create innovative solutions that support student and faculty success and that contribute to collective urban and regional transformation.”